ADOPTED - JUNE 28, 2005

Agenda Item No. 11


Introduced by the Human Services Committee of the:








WHEREAS, Dr. Kenneth Slater has committed his professional life to freeing people from institutions so that they may lead lives with dignity and choice in the community, he carried out this commitment for the past 32 years through a number of roles within the Community Mental Health Authority of Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham Counties; and


WHEREAS, while at Community Mental Health he has served as a Case Manager, the Supervisor of Community Mental Health’s Life Consultation Unit, as the Director of  Community Services for the Developmentally Disabled and as the organization’s Deputy Executive Director; and


WHEREAS, Ken led Community Mental Health in its growth and development from a struggling community-based organization to a highly sophisticated organization, employing leading edge clinical and administrative capabilities, he is known as a pioneer, humanitarian and quiet champion for persons with disabilities, the marginalized, and the vulnerable in our society, and through his creativity and perseverance he developed resources and services where none existed to empower people with disabilities; and


WHEREAS, through his personal example of working hard and with great purpose, he has been an inspiration to the hundreds of staff who have looked to him for leadership; and


WHEREAS, as a result of his commitment, competence, and compassion and his willingness to take up countless challenges and battles, children and adults with disabilities can now live in a kinder, gentler, more accepting and inclusive community; and


WHEREAS, on July 1, 2005, Ken Slater will be retiring from his position as the Deputy Executive Director of Community Mental Health.


THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Ingham County Board of Commissioners hereby honors Dr. Kenneth O. Slater for his 32 years of service with Community Mental Health and for his many contributions and generosity to the clients served and for his commitment to the citizens of Clinton, Eaton and Ingham Counties.


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board wishes him continued success in all of his future endeavors.


HUMAN SERVICES:  Yeas:  Hertel, Weatherwax-Grant, Celentino, Dedden

        Nays:  None                         Absent:  Holman, Severino          Approved 6/20/05